Jewellery

Overview

Sotheby’s leads the global auction market for Jewellery, with live auction sales worldwide in 2017 totalling a remarkable USD $551.3 million. Sotheby’s has sold 4 out of the 5 most expensive jewels ever offered at auction, led by the “CTF Pink Star”, a 59.60ct oval-cut Fancy Vivid Pink Internally Flawless diamond sold at Sotheby’s Hong Kong in April 2017 for USD $71.2 million, a world record price for any diamond or jewel. In May 2017, Sotheby’s Geneva sold the Apollo & Artemis diamonds, a 14.54ct Fancy Vivid Blue diamond and a 16ct Fancy Intense Pink diamond for USD $57.4 million, a record price for a pair of earrings. The diamonds were renamed by the buyer “The Memory and Dream of Autumn Leaves”.

Sotheby's offers the most extraordinary jewels in the world to discerning collectors looking for special designs dating from the 19th century to the present day. Our auctions feature rare and iconic examples of the artistic creativity of Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, Tiffany & Co., Bulgari, Harry Winston, JAR, Graff, David Webb, Verdura, Boucheron, Chaumet, Suzanne Belperron, Boivin and Alexandre Reza, amongst others. The selection of top quality white and coloured diamonds, coloured gemstones and natural pearls is wide and varied, with many fresh-to-the-market examples from private collections, such as The Sunrise Ruby, which sold in Geneva for a record-breaking price of USD $30.3 million.

The international team of jewellery specialists at Sotheby’s believes that jewellery is the most personal of the decorative arts and that these pieces tell a special story about the women who once owned them. Their choices reflect their lifestyles, and often provide a fascinating glimpse into another era. From noble and celebrity provenance to prominent philanthropic families, we’ve been privileged to handle the jewels of many distinguished women including the Duchess of Windsor, Brooke Astor, Ava Gardner, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Mrs. Charles Wrightsman, Maria Callas, Lily Marinho and Gina Lollobrigida.

Our live and online sales are held throughout the year in New York, Geneva, Hong Kong and London. In advance of our forthcoming sales, we would be delighted to provide you with a free and confidential jewellery valuation. Please contact us to make an appointment.

Email Contacts:
Geneva - genevajewels@sothebys.com
New York - newyorkjewels@sothebys.com
Hong Kong - hongkongjewels@sothebys.com
London - londonjewels@sothebys.com
Paris - parisjewels@sothebys.com
Milan - milanjewels@sothebys.com

Read More

Consignments

If you wish to enquire about the possibility of offering a work in one of Jewellery sales, please click here.

Contact Us

GENEVA:
+41 22 908 4849
NEW YORK:
+1 212 606 7392
HONG KONG:
+852 2822 8112
LONDON:
+44 (0)20 7293 6409
PARIS:
+33 (0)1 5305 5237 / 5337
MILAN:
+39 (0)22 950 0201

Featured Stories & Videos

Contacts

  • Jewellery
    Laurence Nicolas
    Global Managing Director, Jewellery and Watches | Executive Vice President
    New York
  • Jewellery
    David Bennett
    Worldwide Chairman, International Jewellery Division | Chairman, Switzerland
    Geneva
  • Jewellery
    Gary H Schuler
    Chairman, North and South America
    New York
  • Jewellery
    Chin Yeow Quek
    Deputy Chairman, Asia | Chairman International Jewellery, Asia
    Hong Kong
  • Jewellery
    Daniela Mascetti
    Chairman Jewellery Europe | International Senior Specialist
    Geneva
  • Jewellery
    Lisa Chow
    Senior Director | Deputy Chairman, Jewellery, Asia
    Hong Kong
  • Jewellery
    Maria Kelly
    Deputy Managing Director
    London
  • Jewellery
    Catharine Becket
    Senior Vice President | Head of Sale | Senior Specialist
    New York
  • Jewellery
    Carol Elkins
    Senior Vice President | Senior Specialist
    New York
  • Jewellery
    Frank Everett
    Senior Vice President | Sales Director, Luxury and Lifestyle Division
    New York
  • Jewellery
    Andres White Correal
    Senior Director | International Business Development | Specialist
  • Jewellery
    Olivier Wagner
    Senior Director | Specialist
    Geneva
    olivier.wagner@sothebys.com
    +41 22 908 48 48
  • Jewellery
    Robin Wright
    Senior Vice President | Senior Specialist
    New York
  • Jewellery
    Quig Bruning
    Vice President | Specialist
    Los Angeles
    quig.bruning@sothebys.com
    +1 310 786 1860
  • Jewellery
    Alexander Eblen
    Vice President | Senior Specialist
    New York
    Alexander.Eblen@sothebys.com
    +1 212 894 1742
  • Jewellery
    Sara Miconi
    Director | Specialist
    Milan
    sara.miconi@sothebys.com
    +39 02 2950 0201
  • Jewellery
    Jessica Wyndham
    Director | Specialist | Head of Sales, Europe
    Geneva
    jessica.wyndham@sothebys.com
  • Jewellery
    Magali Teisseire
    Jewellery and Watches Director | Sotheby's France
    Paris
    magali.teisseire@sothebys.com
    +33 (0)1 5305 5237
  • Jewellery
    Gabriella Mantegani
    Deputy Director | Specialist
    Paris
    gabriella.mantegani@sothebys.com
    +33 1 53 05 53 37
  • Jewellery
    Kristian Spofforth
    Head of Department | Jewellery
    London
    kristian.spofforth@sothebys.com
    +44 (0)20 7293 5589
  • Jewellery
    Yvonne Chu
    Deputy Director | Acting Head of Department
    Hong Kong
    yvonne.chu@sothebys.com
    +852 2822 8178
  • Jewellery
    Shanne Ng
    Deputy Director | Specialist
    Hong Kong
    shanne.ng@sothebys.com
    +852 2822 5588
  • Jewellery
    Kendall Reed
    Assistant Vice President | Head of Fine and Online Jewels Sales | Specialist
    New York
    kendall.reed@sothebys.com
    +1 212 606 7392
  • Jewellery
    Benoit Repellin
    Deputy Director | Specialist
    Geneva
    benoit.repellin@sothebys.com
    +41 22 908 4845
  • Jewellery
    Cristel Tan
    Deputy Director | Head of Sale | Specialist
    Hong Kong
    cristel.tan@sothebys.com
    +852 2822 9011
  • Jewellery
    Nikita Binani (Manilal)
    Deputy Director | Specialist
    London
    nikita.binani@sothebys.com
    +44 207 293 6640
  • Jewellery
    Yvonne Teng
    Assistant Vice President | Senior Manager, West Coast Jewellery
    Los Angeles
  • Jewellery
    Diana Chang
    Specialist
    Hong Kong
    diana.chang@sothebys.com
    +852 2822 8116
  • Jewellery
    Justin Roberts
    Specialist | Head of Catalogue Production
    London
    justin.roberts@sothebys.com
    +44 (0)20 7293 5310
  • Jewellery
    Rebecca Spencer
    Director | European Business Director
    Geneva
    rebecca.spencer@sothebys.com
    +41 22 908 4840
  • Wine: Auction & Retail
    Jessica Whitman
    Business Director
    London
    jessica.whitman@sothebys.com
    +44 207 293 6312
  • Scott Roworth
    Director | Senior Business Director
    Hong Kong
    scott.roworth@sothebys.com
    +852 2822 8184
  • Jewellery
    Orly Brooker
    Administrator
    New York
    Orly.Brooker@sothebys.com
    +1 212 894 1507
  • Jewellery
    Vivian Chen
    Associate Cataloguer
    New York
    Vivian.Chen@sothebys.com
    +1 212 894 1918
  • Jewellery
    Joanna Wheeler
    Associate Cataloguer
    New York
    Joanna.Wheeler@sothebys.com
    +1 212 894 1491
  • Jewellery
    Anna Ruzhnikov
    Associate Cataloguer
    New York
    Anna.Ruzhnikov@sothebys.com
    +1 212 894 1041
  • Jewellery
    Lucy Green
    Administrator
    New York
    Lucy.Green@sothebys.com
    +1 212 894 1025

We use our own and third party cookies to enable you to navigate around our Site, use its features and engage on social media, and to allow us to perform analytics, remember your preferences, provide services that you have requested and produce content and advertisements tailored to your interests, both on our Site as well as others. For more information, or to learn how to change your cookie or marketing preferences, please see our updated Privacy Policy & Cookie Policy.

By continuing to use our Site, you consent to our use of cookies and to the practices described in our updated Privacy Policy.

Close