russian-art-hub-banner2.jpg
Russian Art

Russian Pictures and Russian Works of Art Highlights

The Russian Pictures sale includes a group of works by Pavel Tchelitchew led by Excelsior, an oil from 1934 formerly in the collection of Edward James. Other highlights include Kazimir Malevich’s The Secret of Temptation, a rare gouache with impeccable provenance from the artist’s short Symbolist period, Suprematist designs by Vera Ermolaeva from the early 1920s and Petr Smukrovich’s sumptuous graduation piece Toilette dating from 1913. Soviet paintings from the collection of Raymond and Susan Johnson are also on offer.

The Russian Works of Art, Fabergé and Icons sale features the triptych icon given to the last Russian Emperor Nicholas II on the occasion of his wedding in 1894.

Further highlights include a lavish Imperial presentation box by Fabergé workmaster Michael Perchin, a monumental pair of porcelain vases from the period of Nicholas I and a rare and monumental Soviet porcelain pot designed by Ivan Riznich.


Exhibition Calendar

LONDON

1 JUNE 18 | 09:00 AM - 04:30 PM
2 JUNE 18 | 12:00 PM - 05:00 PM
3 JUNE 18 | 12:00 PM - 05:00 PM
4 JUNE 18 | 09:00 AM - 04:30 PM  

Auction Calendar

Featured Content

Contacts

Russian Pictures:

Reto Barmettler
+44 20 7293 5673
RETO.BARMETTLER@SOTHEBYS.COM

Frances Asquith
+1 212 894 1063
FRANCES.ASQUITH@SOTHEBYS.COM

Bella Radenovic
+44 20 7293 5639
BELLA.RADENOVIC@SOTHEBYS.COM

Wladimir Witkowsky
+33 1 53 05 53 27
WLADIMIR.WITKOWSKY@SOTHEBYS.COM

Russian Works of Art:

Darin Bloomquist
+44 20 7293 5105
DARIN.BLOOMQUIST@SOTHEBYS.COM

Marie Sapozhnikova
+44 20 7293 5576
MARIE.SAPOZHNIKOVA@SOTHEBYS.COM

We use our own and third party cookies to enable you to navigate around our Site, use its features and engage on social media, and to allow us to perform analytics, remember your preferences, provide services that you have requested and produce content and advertisements tailored to your interests, both on our Site as well as others. For more information, or to learn how to change your cookie or marketing preferences, please see our updated Privacy Policy & Cookie Policy.

By continuing to use our Site, you consent to our use of cookies and to the practices described in our updated Privacy Policy.

Close