orientalist-hub-banner1.jpg
Orientalist Paintings

Orientalist & Middle Eastern Week

Sotheby’s is delighted to announce Orientalist & Middle Eastern Week in London, encompassing Rugs & Carpets, The Orientalist Sale, 20th Century Art/Middle East, and Arts of the Islamic World. These four dedicated sales, which will be on view together in our Bond Street Galleries and held on consecutive days, showcase works of art, manuscripts, paintings, textiles and rugs produced by artists from multiple Islamic empires which flourished from the ninth to the nineteenth centuries in North Africa, the Middle East, Turkey, Persia, and India; as well as Western artists’ impressions of the ‘Orient’, as these lands came to be described in the nineteenth century. Collectors will also have the opportunity to engage with the artistic vision of the modern generation of artists from the region itself, founded on a rich and diverse cultural heritage whilst also looking to the future.


Featured Content

Auction Calendar

Exhibitions

Friday 20 April, 9 am-4.30 pm

Saturday 21 April, 12 noon-5 pm

Sunday 22 April, 12 noon-5 pm

Monday 23 April, 9 am-4.30 pm

Tuesday 24 April, 9 am-4.30 pm

Enquiries

Rugs & Carpets 
Harry Grenfell
+44 20 7293 5556
harry.grenfell@sothebys.com

20th Century Art / Middle East 
Ashkan Baghestani
+44 20 7293 5154
ashkan.baghestani@sothebys.com

The Orientalist Sale
Claude Piening
+44 (0)20 7293 5658
claude.piening@sothebys.com
Richard Lowkes
+44 20 7293 5477
richard.lowkes@sothebys.com

Arts of the Islamic World
Benedict Carter
+44 20 7293 5113
benedict.carter@sothebys.com
Alexandra Roy
+44 20 7293 5507
alexandra.roy@sothebys.com

We use our own and third party cookies to enable you to navigate around our Site, use its features and engage on social media, and to allow us to perform analytics, remember your preferences, provide services that you have requested and produce content and advertisements tailored to your interests, both on our Site as well as others. For more information, or to learn how to change your cookie or marketing preferences, please see our updated Privacy Policy & Cookie Policy.

By continuing to use our Site, you consent to our use of cookies and to the practices described in our updated Privacy Policy.

Close