American Art Auctions • Winter 2021

New York • February–March

This winter season, Sotheby's New York presents a series of three American Art auctions. The series brings together artworks that span the full range of the category – from traditional 19th-century landscape paintings, Impressionist and Modern portraits, art of the American West by important pioneers of the genre and their contemporary counterparts, to beloved illustrations from Ludwig Bemelmans's original Madeline stories.

Lots from all three sales can be viewed in a highlights exhibition at our York Avenue headquarters from Saturday 27 February – Tuesday 2 March 2021 by appointment. To schedule an appointment please contact appointmentsNY@sothebys.com or +1 212 606 7171. You can read more about our safety requirements here.

Auctions

Exhibitions

NEW YORK
   
Two Centuries: American Art
Open for bidding: 17 February–3 March
Lots will begin closing at 12PM EST on 3 March
Viewing dates: Saturday, 27 February–Tuesday, 2 March
  Madeline and More: The Whimsical World of Ludwig Bemelmans
Open for bidding: 17 February–3 March
Lots will begin closing at 10AM EST on 3 March
Viewing dates: Saturday, 27 February–Tuesday, 2 March
    
Majestic America: Property from an Important Western Collector, Part II
Open for bidding: 23 February–2 March
Lots will begin closing at 12PM EST on 2 March
Viewing dates: Saturday, 27 February–Tuesday, 2 March
   

Virtual Exhibition

Click to launch slideshow

Select Highlights from Majestic America: Property from an Important Western Collector, Part II

Contacts

Kayla Carlsen
Senior Vice President
Head of Department
American Art
+1 212 606 7280
KAYLA.CARLSEN@SOTHEBYS.COM
 Tessa Kansas
Associate Cataloguer
American Art
+1 212 606 7280
TESSA.KANSAS@SOTHEBYS.COM
   
Elizabeth Pisano
Vice President
Senior Specialist
American Art
+1 212 606 7280
ELIZABETH.PISANO@SOTHEBYS.COM
 Honor Sargent
Administrator
American Art
+1 212 606 7280
HONOR.SARGENT@SOTHEBYS.COM
   
Elizabeth Goodridge
Assistant Vice President
Specialist
American Art
+1 212 606 7280
ELIZABETH.GOODRIDGE@SOTHEBYS.COM
  
   
Charlotte Mitchell
Assistant Vice President
Specialist
American Art
+1 212 606 7280
CHARLOTTE.MITCHELL@SOTHEBYS.COM
  
   
   

Close