Jewelry

Want to discover the value of your jewels?

By Sotheby's

Sotheby’s Hong Kong Spring Sales of Magnificent Jewels and Jadeite total US$116.4m.

New World Auction Record set for any diamond or jewel.

New World Auction Record set for the price per carat for a fancy intense blue diamond.

 

S otheby’s Hong Kong kicked off the spring 2017 jewellery season on 4 April with its sale of Magnificent Jewels and Jadeite

Headlined by the sale of the Pink Star, a 59.60 carat oval mixed-cut Fancy Vivid Pink diamond, its sale set a new world auction record for any diamond or jewel, as well as the highest price for any work ever sold at auction in Asia.  Its new owner, renowned Hong Kong jeweller, Chow Tai Fook has since renamed the stone, CTF Pink Star. 

WORLD AUCTION RECORD FOR ANY DIAMOND OR JEWEL
HIGHEST PRICE ANY WORK SOLD AT AUCTION IN ASIA
CTF PINK STAR
An Oval Mixed-cut Fancy Vivid Pink Internally Flawless diamond weighing 59.60 carats.
Lot Sold HK$553m (US$71.2m)

 A 3.13 carat emerald-cut Fancy Intense Blue diamond also made a new auction record for an intense blue at US$1,525,000 per carat. White diamonds also performed well with 93% of the white diamond lots sold.

Coloured stones achieved strong prices, with a 5.04 carat oval-shaped Burma ruby reaching US$246,744 per carat, as well as an important strand of natural pearls that incited competitive bidding, which sold for US$1.1 million, almost tripling the pre-sale low estimate.

The strength of the market for signed jewels remained strong with items from Cartier, Graff, and contemporary master, BHAGAT, finding great favour with Asian collectors.

The top jadeite lot of the season achieved US$2.6 million, consisting of a beautiful jadeite cabochon and diamond necklace and matching pair of earrings.

In anticipation of the upcoming Magnificent Jewels & Jadeite sale in October 2017, our specialist team will be providing complimentary and confidential valuations of jewellery globally. Contact us by 30 June to arrange an appointment and learn more about what Sotheby’s can do for you. 


Contact Sotheby’s Jewellery by any one of the following methods:

- Online: Visit our online portal for a preliminary estimate at no charge.
- Email: Send photographs and any relevant information to HongKongJewels@sothebys.com
- Phone: Call us and we will discuss your request.


BOOK AN APPOINTMENT

HONG KONG: Jennie.Leong@sothebys.com, +852 2822 8112
KUALA LUMPUR: 29 May 2017 | Walter.Cheah@sothebys.com, +60 3 2070 0319
JAKARTA: 30–31 May 2017 | TaniaSandy.Putri@sothebys.com, +62 21 5797 3603        
SINGAPORE: 1–2 June 2017 | Doreen.Yong@sothebys.com, Cristel.Tan@sothebys.com, +65 6732 8239
BANGKOK: 5 June 2017 | Wannida.Saetieo@sothebys.com, +66 2 286 0788      
MANILA: 7–8 June 2017 | Angela.Hsu.Consultant@sothebys.com, +63 917 815 0075
LOS ANGELES: 8–9 June 2017 | Yvonne.Teng@sothebys.com, +1 310 786 1864
TOKYO: 4–6 July 2017 | Aki.Uemura@sothebys.com, +81 3 3230 2755
TAIPEICaitlyn.Yu@sothebys.com, +886 2 2757 6689
SHANGHAI: Fiona.Zhang@sothebys.com, +86 21 6288 7500
BEIJING: Lei.Tang@sothebys.com, +86 10 6408 8890

 Highlights

Stay informed with Sotheby’s top stories, videos & news.
Receive the best from Sotheby’s delivered to your inbox.

By subscribing you are agreeing to Sotheby’s Privacy Policy. You can unsubscribe from Sotheby’s emails at any time by clicking the “Manage your Subscriptions” link in any of your emails.

More from Sotheby's

Close