London_New

Since Samuel Baker founded Sotheby's in London in 1744, the company has occupied only two primary locations: the Strand, where we were until 1917, and 34-35 New Bond Street, where we have been ever since. Located in the heart of London's Mayfair district, Sotheby's auctions offer an extraordinary diversity of objects and works of art from Impressionist & Modern Art and Contemporary Art to Old Master Paintings, 19th Century European Art and Islamic Art, as well as Decorative Art from porcelain and silver to French & English furniture amongst many others.

Sotheby's London has been the wellspring of numerous watershed moments in auction history such as the 1958 sale of the Goldschmidt Collection, an Evening sale of Impressionist & Modern Art that established the gold standard for Impressionist & Modern Art and Contemporary Art. In recent years, our sales in these categories have increased dramatically with a new benchmark established in February 2010 when Alberto Giacometti's L'Homme Qui Marche I achieved $104.3 million, the auction record for any work of art at the time of sale and the current record for any sculpture at auction. Other notable sales include the 2012 auction of Joan Miró's Peinture (Étoile Bleue), which achieved £23.5 million and works from the collection of legendary art collector Gunter Sachs, which totaled $130 million during June sales. Similar high-profile auctions continue to attract an international audience, including the Attic Sale at Chatsworth, the Robert Devereux Collection and the annual selling exhibition Beyond Limits at Chatsworth House, the ancestral home of the Dukes of Devonshire.

Sotheby's London offers comprehensive services for clients worldwide. We provide estimates and insurance valuations for all collecting categories and can also advise on shipping, buying and selling with Sotheby's.

At present, we are actively seeking consignments in all collecting areas for inclusion in upcoming sales worldwide.

Please note that Sotheby's Cafe, located in the New Bond Street auction house, serves breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. View details here.

Sotheby’s London holds Environmental Accreditation ISO 14001. To view Sotheby’s Environmental Policy, please click here.

Sotheby's registered in England and Wales, registered office at 34-35 New Bond Street, London W1A 2AA UK. Registered Number 874867.

View Upcoming Auctions

05
Feb '16
London | 10:00 GMT
11
Feb '16
18
Feb '16

Postal Address

34-35 New Bond Street

London W1A 2AA UK

How to find us

34-35 New Bond Street

London W1S 2RT UK

Tel: +44 20 7293 5000

Fax: +44 20 7293 5989

Robin Woodhead
Robin Woodhead

Directions

Sotheby's London can be found in the heart of the West End on New Bond Street near the corner of Conduit Street. Well served by public transport, there is also parking on surrounding streets and in nearby Cavendish Square.

View on Google Maps

London_New

London

Since Samuel Baker founded Sotheby's in London in 1744, the company has occupied only two primary locations: the Strand, where we were until 1917, and 34-35 New Bond Street, where we have been ever since. Located in the heart of London's Mayfair district, Sotheby's auctions offer an extraordinary diversity of objects and works of art from Impressionist & Modern Art and Contemporary Art to Old Master Paintings, 19th Century European Art and Islamic Art, as well as Decorative Art from porcelain and silver to French & English furniture amongst many others.

Sotheby's London has been the wellspring of numerous watershed moments in auction history such as the 1958 sale of the Goldschmidt Collection, an Evening sale of Impressionist & Modern Art that established the gold standard for Impressionist & Modern Art and Contemporary Art. In recent years, our sales in these categories have increased dramatically with a new benchmark established in February 2010 when Alberto Giacometti's L'Homme Qui Marche I achieved $104.3 million, the auction record for any work of art at the time of sale and the current record for any sculpture at auction. Other notable sales include the 2012 auction of Joan Miró's Peinture (Étoile Bleue), which achieved £23.5 million and works from the collection of legendary art collector Gunter Sachs, which totaled $130 million during June sales. Similar high-profile auctions continue to attract an international audience, including the Attic Sale at Chatsworth, the Robert Devereux Collection and the annual selling exhibition Beyond Limits at Chatsworth House, the ancestral home of the Dukes of Devonshire.

Sotheby's London offers comprehensive services for clients worldwide. We provide estimates and insurance valuations for all collecting categories and can also advise on shipping, buying and selling with Sotheby's.

At present, we are actively seeking consignments in all collecting areas for inclusion in upcoming sales worldwide.

Please note that Sotheby's Cafe, located in the New Bond Street auction house, serves breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. View details here.

Sotheby’s London holds Environmental Accreditation ISO 14001. To view Sotheby’s Environmental Policy, please click here.

Sotheby's registered in England and Wales, registered office at 34-35 New Bond Street, London W1A 2AA UK. Registered Number 874867.

+ read more

- read less

Postal Address

34-35 New Bond Street

London W1A 2AA UK

How to find us

34-35 New Bond Street

London W1S 2RT UK

Tel: +44 20 7293 5000

Fax: +44 20 7293 5989

Robin Woodhead
Robin Woodhead

Directions

Sotheby's London can be found in the heart of the West End on New Bond Street near the corner of Conduit Street. Well served by public transport, there is also parking on surrounding streets and in nearby Cavendish Square.

View on Google Maps

Contacts

Our London client services representatives are available to assist you should you have questions regarding buying or selling, or wish to have an object from your collection valued.

Alexander Bell

Board Director
International Department Head
Old Master Paintings

alex.bell@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5420
London
Melanie Clore

Chairman, Sotheby's Europe
Co-Chairman, Worldwide Impressionist & Modern Art

melanie.clore@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5393
London
George Gordon

Co-Chairman, Worldwide Old Master Paintings & Drawings
Board Director
Old Master Paintings

george.gordon@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5414
London
Philip Hook

Board Member
Senior International Specialist
Impressionist & Modern Art

philip.hook@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5223
London
Helena Newman

Chairman, Impressionist & Modern Art, Europe
Co-Head, Worldwide Impressionist & Modern Art

helena.newman@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5397
London
Cheyenne Westphal

Co-Head, Contemporary Art Worldwide

cheyenne.westphal@sothebys.com

London
Robin Woodhead

Executive Vice President
Chairman, Sotheby's International

robin.woodhead@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6066
London
Henry Wyndham

Board Director
Chairman, Europe

+44 20 7293 5057
London
Nisha Amin

Senior Director, Senior Business Director
Impressionist & Modern Art

nisha.amin@sothebys.com

London
Oliver Barker

Deputy Chairman, Europe
Senior International Specialist
Contemporary Art

oliver.barker@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5000
London
Stu Beeby

Senior Director
Worldwide Head of Department
Shipping Logistics

stu.beeby@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6242
London
Roger Bell- Ogilby

Senior Business Director

roger.bellogilby@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5883
London
Michael Berger- Sandhofer

Senior Director
Private Client Group

m.bergersandhofer@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5975
London
Tim Bourne

Senior Director
Worldwide Head of Watches

tim.bourne@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5722
London
Michael Bing

Senior Director
Division Head British
Paintings & Prints
Business Development

michael.bing@sothebys.com

+44 20 72 93 6135
London
Robert Bradlow

Senior Director, Head of Department
Chinese Works of Art

robert.bradlow@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5145
London
Alex Branczik

Senior Director
Head of Contemporary Art, London

alex.branczik@sothebys.com

London
Arabella Chandos

Senior Director
Senior Specialist
Old Master Paintings

arabella.chandos@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5421
London
Richard Charlton- Jones

Senior Director
Old Master Paintings

richard.charltonjones@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5489
London
Frances Christie

Senior Director
Head of Department
Modern & Post-War British Art

frances.christie@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5575
London
Harry Dalmeny

Chairman, Sotheby’s UK
Senior Director
House Sales & Private Collections

harry.dalmeny@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6076
London
Alina Davey

Senior Director
Private Client Group

alina.davey@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5462
London
Patrick Dingwall, Esq

Senior Director
North of England

barbara.eggleston@sothebys.com

+44 (0)7891 729085
North of England
Sebastian Fahey

Senior Director
Commercial Director, Executive Offices, Asia

sebastian.fahey@sothebys.com

+852 2822 5535
Hong Kong
Iain Fleming

Senior Director
European Finance Director

iain.fleming@sothebys.com

+44 207 293 6094
London
Sofia Fleming

Senior Director
Human Resources Director

sofia.fleming@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5173
London
Andrew Fletcher

Senior Director
Head of Auction Sales
Old Master Paintings

andrew.fletcher@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6205
London
Cecilia Fletcher

Senior Director
Compliance Counsel

cecilia.fletcher@sothebys.com

+44 207 293 6210
London
Constantine Frangos

Senior Director
Head of Corporate Art Services, Museums and Foundations, Europe

constantine.frangos@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5704
London
Jean Fritts

Senior Director
International Chairman
African & Oceanic Art

jean.fritts@sothebys.com

+44 (0)20 7293 5116
London
Edward Gibbs

Chairman
Head of Department
Middle East and India

edward.gibbs@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5332
London
Dr David Goldthorpe

Senior Director
Head of Department
Books & Manuscripts

david.goldthorpe@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5303
London
Dr. Franka Haiderer

Senior Director
Chairman
Valuations, Europe

valuations@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6422
London
Michael Hart

Senior Director
Head of Department
Post Sale Services and Business Admin

michael.hart@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5890
London
Maureen Hooft Graafland

Senior Director
Head of Client Development & Private Client Group

maureen.hooftgraafland@sothebys.com

+44 020 7293 6196
London
Henry House

Senior Director, Head of Department
Furniture and Decorative Arts

henry.house@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5486
London
Alexander Kader

Senior Director
Head of Department, Europe
European Sculpture
& Works of Art

alexander.kader@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5493
London
Jacqueline King

Senior Director
Marketing Director Europe

jacqueline.king@sothebys.com

London
Rebecca Kouri

Senior Director, Head of Department, IT Executive

rebecca.kouri@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6043
London
Irina Kronrod

Senior Director
Senior Client Liason
Private Client Group

irina.kronrod@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5783
London
Damian Leslie

Senior Director
Senior Loan Portfolio Manager
Sotheby's Financial Services

damian.leslie@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6021
London
Marcus Linell

Senior Director
Special Project Director

marcus.linell@sothebys.com

44 20 7293 5374
London
Clive Lord

Senior Director
Chief Operating Officer, Europe

+44 20 7293 6112
London
William Lucy

Senior Director
Business Development Director

william.lucy@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5178
London
James Macdonald

Senior Director, Worldwide
Head of Private Sales,
Old Master Paintings

jamesv.macdonald@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6414
London
Patrick Masson

Senior Director
Head of Continental & Middle East Offices

patrick.masson@sothebys.com

+44 207 293 5770
London
Nick Mackay

Senior Director
Senior Business Director
Contemporary Art

nick.mackay@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5389
London
James Mackie

Senior Director, Deputy Head of Department
Impressionist & Modern Art

james.mackie@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6226
London
David Moore- Gwyn

Consultant
Old Master Paintings

davidmooregwyn.consultant@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5406
London
Kevin McGuire

Senior Director
European Financial Controller

kevin.mcGuire@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5445
London
Yamini Mehta

Senior Director
International Head of South Asian Art

Yamini.Mehta@sothebys.com

+44 207 293 5906
London
Mitzi Mina

Senior Director
Head of Press Office, London

mitzi.mina@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6000
London
Ewi Montgomery- Shafran

Senior Director
Project Advisor
Sotheby's Preferred

ewi.montgomery-shafran@sothebys.com

+44 207 293 6274
London
Stephen Mould

Senior Director
Head of Department, Europe
Wine

stephen.mould@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5046
London
Séverine Nackers

Senior Director
Head of Department
Prints

severine.nackers@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5213
London
Isabelle Paagman

Senior Director
European Head of Private Sales

isabelle.paagman@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5495
London
Emma Paleschi

Senior Director
Senior Business Director
Jewellery

emma.paleschi@sothebys.com

+44 207 293 6244
London
Wendy Philips

Senior Director
Tax & Heritage

wendy.philips@sothebys.com

+44 20 72 93 6184
London
Claude Piening

Senior Director
Head of Department
19th Century European Paintings & Head of Orientalist Art

claude.piening@sothebys.com

+44 (0)20 7293 5658
London
Mark Poltimore

Deputy Chairman, Europe
Chairman Sotheby’s, Russia

mark.poltimore@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5200
London
Richard Purchase

Senior Director
Head of Department
Risk Management

richard.purchase@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5346
London
Cristiana Romalli

Senior Director
Senior Specialist
Old Master Drawings

cristiana.romalli@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5419
London
Gregory Rubinstein

Senior Director
Head of Department, Worldwide
Old Master & Early British Drawings

greg.rubinstein@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5417
London
Peter Selley

Senior Director
Senior Specialist
Books & Manuscripts

peter.selley@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5295
London
Antonia Serra

Senior Director
European General Counsel

enquires@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 6228
London
James Sevier

Senior Director
Senior Specialist
Contemporary Art

james.sevier@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5842
London
Oriane Simonet

Senior Director
Associate General Counsel
Legal

oriane.simonet@sothebys.com

+44 207 293 6445
London
Simon Stock

Senior Director
Senior International Specialist
Impressionist & Modern Art

simon.stock@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5716
London
Samuel Valette

Senior Director, Vice Chairman, Private Sales Worldwide
Impressionist & Modern Art

samuel.valette@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5733
London
Jo Vickery

Senior Director
International Director
Russian Art

jo.vickery@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5597
London
Justin Weller

Senior Director
Head of Department
Property Management

justin.weller@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5838
London
Karen Young

Senior Director
Associate General Counsel, Legal

karen.young@sothebys.com

+44 20 7293 5364
London

+ # More

- Less

Departments

19th Century European Paintings

19th Century Furniture & Sculpture

20th Century Design

African & Oceanic Art

Ancient Sculpture and Works of Art

Automobiles

Books & Manuscripts

British Paintings 1550-1850

British Watercolours & Drawings 1550-1850

Chinese Works of Art

Clocks & Barometers

Contemporary Art

Contemporary Asian Art

Czech Art

Dutch & Belgian Paintings

English Furniture

European Ceramics

European Sculpture & Works of Art

German, Austrian & Central European Paintings

Greek Art

House Sales & Private Collections

Impressionist & Modern Art

Indian & South Asian Modern & Contemporary Art

Indian, Himalayan & Southeast Asian Art

Irish Art

Islamic Art

Italian Paintings

Jewellery

Judaica

Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts

Modern & Post-War British Art

Objects of Vertu

Old Master Drawings

Old Master Paintings

Orientalist Paintings

Photographs

Prints

Rugs & Carpets

Russian Art

Scandinavian Paintings

Scottish Art

Silver

Spanish Paintings

Victorian, Pre-Raphaelite & British Impressionist Art

Watches

Wine