Auction Results

Contemporary Art Evening Auction

| | London

SALE TOTAL

93,147,500 GBP
Browse Lots
Browse Lots
Sale Number: L14022 Lots : 58

Overview

RESULTS

The Best of British drove Sotheby’s London evening auction of Contemporary Art beyond its pre-sale high estimate to £93.2 million ($158.4 million). The top lot of the sale was Francis Bacon’s Three Studies for Portrait of George Dyer which sold after an extended battle between four bidders for £26.6 million, surpassing the high estimate. That price established a new benchmark for a small-scale triptych by the artist.

A new auction record was established for Peter Doig when his Country-rock (wing-mirror) sold for £8.4 million. The painting has been in the same private collection since 1999, the year it was painted.

New auction records were also set for Frank Auerbach, Hurvin Anderson and Adrian Ghenie.

View Press Release.

OVERVIEW

Sotheby’s Contemporary Art Evening Auction will present outstanding highlights from the last five decades of art history, including landmark works from luminaries such as Francis Bacon, Andy Warhol, Yves Klein and Lucio Fontana. Surveying the major recent developments of contemporary art, this auction will offer exemplary pieces of Pop Art, photography, British art and a pioneering assemblage of works from the influential Sender Collection, including those by Damien Hirst, Cindy Sherman and Gilbert & George.

Please note that the exhibition from 17 – 23 June will include a selection of highlights from the sale. The full sale will be on view from 27 June.

Contact Information

Cheyenne Westphal
Co-Head, Contemporary Art Worldwide
cheyenne.westphal@sothebys.com
Oliver Barker
Deputy Chairman, Europe
Senior International Specialist
Contemporary Art
+44 20 7293 5000
oliver.barker@sothebys.com
Alex Branczik
Senior Director
Head of Contemporary Art, London
alex.branczik@sothebys.com
Isabelle Paagman
Senior Director
European Head of Private Sales
+44 20 7293 5495
isabelle.paagman@sothebys.com
James Sevier
Senior Director
Senior Specialist
Contemporary Art
+44 20 7293 5842
james.sevier@sothebys.com
Emma Baker
Deputy Director
Specialist & Head of Research
Contemporary Art
+44 207 293 5569
emma.baker@sothebys.com