Auction Results

Contemporary Art Day Auction

| | New York

SALE TOTAL

96,839,750 USD
Browse Lots
Browse Lots
Sale Number: N09142 Lots : 454

SALE TOTAL

96,839,750 USD DOWNLOAD RESULTS

Sessions

  • Session 1: 15 May 2014 | 9:30 AM | Lots 101 - 316
  • Session 2: 15 May 2014 | 2:00 PM | Lots 401 - 644

Overview

RESULTS

The 15 May Contemporary Art Day Auction totaled $96,839,750 with strong results for works by Andy Warhol, Sigmar Polke, Mark Bradford and David Hammons. The sale was led by Warhol’s Mercedes-Benz W 196 from 1954, which reached $3,97,000 over an estimate of $1,500,000 - $2,000,000. The Sender Collection attracted huge competition as bidders sought works from this pioneering group of artists driving the total to $14 million, well over the high estimate and with multiple artist records.

OVERVIEW

The May 2014 Contemporary Art Day Sale features a strong selection of works spanning from the Postwar period to the present day. The Morning Session includes top quality works by Alexander Calder, Mark Rothko, Jean Dubuffet, Sigmar Polke and Kazuo Shiraga. Highlighting the Afternoon Session are works from Ahead of the Curve: The Sender Collection, which includes outstanding examples of Contemporary paintings, photography and Conceptual Art by artists such as Elizabeth Peyton, John Baldessari, Cindy Sherman and Richard Prince. Standout lots of the Afternoon Session also include works by some of the most interesting, influential and visionary artists of today, including Mark Tansey, Christopher Wool and Mark Bradford.

Contact Information

Johanna Flaum
Head of Day Sales
Contemporary Art
+1 212 606 7254
johanna.flaum@sothebys.com
Charles L. Moffett
Head of Afternoon Sales
Contemporary Art
+1 212 894 1207
charles.l.moffett@sothebys.com
Emily Kaplan
Specialist
Head of Contemporary Curated
+1 212 606 1258
emily.kaplan@sothebys.com
Colin Smith
Associate Specialist
Contemporary Art
+1 212 606 7254
Colin.Smith@sothebys.com
Nicole Schloss
Associate Cataloguer
Contemporary Art
+1 212 606 7254
nicole.schloss@sothebys.com
Claire Zogas
Post Sale Manager
For Post-Sale Buyer Payment
and Shipping Queries
+1 212 606 7444
claire.zogas@sothebys.com