Auction Results

Piano Nobile

| | London

SALE TOTAL

2,550,155 GBP
Browse Lots
Browse Lots
Sale Number: L13318 Lots : 211

Overview

RESULTS

Sotheby's London sale Piano Nobile - A Collection from an Aristocratic Milanese Palazzo reflected the sophistication and cultivated taste of its owner in a tribute to grand and classical interiors. The success of the sale, which achieved a total of £2,550,155, demonstrates the demand and continued appreciation for such objects in today's market. Highlights of the sale included the "Cozzi porcelain butterfly dinner service", which achieved £182,500 - more than six times its low pre-sale estimate; along with a pair of Italian carved walnut commodes, Veneto, mid-18th century, which sold for £110,500 and a unique French gilded iron-mounted rock crystal and amethyst glass chandelier in 18th-century style, which sold for £104,500. 

OVERVIEW

On 5 November 2013, Sotheby’s London will recreate in their galleries the interiors from the Piano Nobile of an Aristocratic Palazzo located in the heart of historic Milan. Architecturally, the Piano Nobile represents the main floor of a Renaissance building, where the reception rooms were often used to stage extravagant and sumptuous events. Reflecting the sophistication and taste of its owner – a passionate collector – the lavish interiors of this particular Milanese Palazzo have been reinvented by acclaimed interior designers Roberto Peregalli and Laura Sartori Rimini (Studio Peregalli).

Incorporating trompe l’oeil representations of the antique, together with important Venetian furniture and paintings, Continental silver and ceramics, and European, Chinese and Asian works of art, these interiors imbue a truly Romantic notion of a bygone era. Reminiscent of the exquisite interiors of the grand Venetian palaces, they evoke a lavish and theatrical ambience, with each room presenting an inimitable setting. This dedicated single-owner sale will be comprised of approximately 200 lots.

Contact Information

Mario Tavella
Président-directeur général
Sotheby’s France
Deputy Chairman Sotheby’s Europe
+33 1 53 05 53 12
mario.tavella@sothebys.com
Francesco Morroni
Senior Director
Head of Department, Milan
Furniture
+39 02 2950 0203
francesco.morroni@sothebys.com
Jacqueline Coulter
Senior Consultant, London
Rugs & Carpets
+44 20 7293 6441
jackie.coulter.consultant@sothebys.com
Thierry de Lachaise
Senior Director
Head of Silver Department, Paris
+33 1 53 05 53 20
thierry.de.lachaise@sothebys.com
Stephanie Douglas
Director
Specialist
Tapestry, Rugs and Carpets
+44 20 7293 5469
stephanie.douglas@sothebys.com
Cynthia Harris
Director
Head of Department
Silver & Decorative Arts
+44 20 7293 5531
cynthia.harris@sothebys.com
Stephen Loakes
Director
Senior Specialist
Chinese Works of Art
+44 20 7293 5571
stephen.loakes@sothebys.com
Alice Bleuzen
Deputy Director
Specialist
Silver & Vertu
+44 20 7293 5350
alice.bleuzen@sothebys.com
Christopher Mason
Deputy Director
Specialist
European Sculpture & Works of Art
+44 20 7293 6062
christopher.mason@sothebys.com
Shiona Fourie
Deputy Director
Senior Project Manager
Private European Collections
+44(0)207 293 5470
shiona.fourie@sothebys.com
Alba King
Private Sales Manager
Executive Offices, Europe
+44 20 7293 5220
alba.king@sothebys.com