Auction Results

Magnificent Jewels

| | New York

SALE TOTAL

60,519,563 USD
Browse Lots
Browse Lots
Sale Number: N09054 Lots : 457

SALE TOTAL

60,519,563 USD DOWNLOAD RESULTS

Sessions

  • Session 1: 11 Dec 2013 | 10:00 AM | Lots 1 - 226
  • Session 2: 11 Dec 2013 | 2:00 PM | Lots 227 - 460

Overview

RESULTS

Distinguished Collections Drive Sotheby’s New York Auction of Magnificent Jewels To $60.6 Million

Sotheby’s New York auction of Magnificent Jewels concluded with an outstanding total of $60,550,813, selling a strong 82.1% by lot and surpassing its pre-sale high estimate of $58.7 million. This figure raises the 2013 results for Sotheby’s worldwide jewelry auctions to just over $600 million to-date – already more than 30% above the previous record high for the Company’s sales in this category, set just last year, and with another auction tomorrow in London. Today’s results also notably mark the highest-ever total for a jewelry sale at Sotheby’s New York.

The 11 December Auction was led by fifteen pieces that sold over $1 Million including a 61.35 Carat Colombian Emerald Ring, which achieved $4.6 million, and Five Rare Egyptian-Revival Jewels by Cartier, bringing in $2.3 million.

Lisa Hubbard, Chairman, North & South America, Sotheby’s International Jewelry Division, said: “This was a fantastic sale for those who love and appreciate jewelry as art. Not only was it defined by important stones that brought exceptional results, but also by iconic designs that spoke so vividly to the cultures and periods that inspired them – the Egyptian-revival pieces by Cartier, the Indian-influenced jewels from the Distinguished Family Collection, and the modernist, African-inspired Boucheron wrist cuff were all a privilege to offer.”


OVERVIEW

A superb selection of beautiful signed and period jewels will be offered on 11 December in the Magnificent Jewels sale in New York.  Collectors will discover rare Egyptian-Revival jewels made by Cartier in the 1920s, an exotic Boucheron bracelet shown at the 1931 Exposition Coloniale in Paris, and a private collection of iconic Schlumberger designs.  Also featured are jewels from a distinguished family collection -- led by an important D color emerald-cut diamond of 24.48 carats and a spectacular Indian-inspired Cartier emerald and diamond necklace – this collection further comprises many emerald jewels, Art deco handbags and decorative pieces dating from the first half of the 20th century. The collection of a distinguished lady comprises glittering jewels designed with fancy vivid yellow diamonds and emeralds of impressive size and top quality. Additional highlights include an exquisite Cartier diamond brooch from an estate, strands of natural pearls, mystery-set ruby jewels from Van Cleef & Arpels, and superlative quality diamonds and colored stones from private collections.

Travelling Exhibition in Los Angeles:
17 November, 12 noon-5pm

Contact Information

Lisa Hubbard
Co-Chairman, North and South America
International Jewellery
+1 212 606 7392
lisa.hubbard@sothebys.com
Gary Schuler
Co-Chairman, North and South America
International Jewellery
+1 212 606 7095
gary.schuler@sothebys.com
Robin Wright
Vice President
Specialist
Jewellery
+1 212 894 1246
robin.wright@sothebys.com
Catharine Becket
Vice President
Specialist
Jewellery
+1 212 894 1027
catharine.becket@sothebys.com
Beth Wassarman
Senior Vice President
Senior Business Director
Jewellery
+1 212 606 7540
beth.wassarman@sothebys.com
Carol Elkins
Senior Vice President
Senior Specialist
Jewellery
+1 415 772 9027
carol.elkins@sothebys.com
Kendall Reed
Assistant Vice President
Specialist
Jewellery
+1 212 606 7392
kendall.reed@sothebys.com
Quig Bruning
Deputy Director
Specialist
Jewellery
+44 20 7293 5589
quig.bruning@sothebys.com
Nikita Manilal
Specialist
Jewellery
+1 212 894 1803
Nikita.manilal@sothebys.com
Frank Everett
Vice President
Sales Director
Jewellery
+1 212 894 1902
frank.everett@sothebys.com
Mallory Landers
Cataloguer
Jewellery
+1 212 606 7392
Mallory.Landers@sothebys.com
Alexandria Olszewski
Post Sale Manager
For Post-Sale Buyer Payment
and Shipping Queries
+1 212 606 7444
uspostsaleservices@sothebys.com