Auction Results

A Gentleman's Collection

| | London

SALE TOTAL

1,476,500 GBP
Browse Lots
Browse Lots
Sale Number: L13314 Lots : 72

Overview

RESULTS

Achieving a total of £1,476,500, Sotheby's London auction, Important English Furniture: A Gentleman's Collection, featured the very best of 18th and early 19th-century English Furniture, offering a chance to acquire beautifully crafted works with timeless elegance.

Highlights of the sale included a pair of George III rosewood, tulipwood and marquetry commodes, circa 1775, attributed to Mayhew and Ince, which achieved £242,500, and a pair of George III ormolu mounted white marble candle vases attributed to Matthew Boulton, circa 1775, which sold for £98,500 - more than three times its pre-sale low estimate. 

OVERVIEW

This distinguished collection includes the very best of 18th and early 19th-century English furniture, offering both the connoisseur and dilettante a chance to acquire beautifully crafted works with timeless elegance. The selected pieces hark from some of the most respected and desirable dealer and private provenances, with the notable inclusion of two lots from the Percival D. Griffiths collection.

Click for 360 degree views of the property:
Tour the Salon
Tour the Dining Room
Tour the Hall

Contact Information

Henry House
Senior Director, Head of Department
Furniture and Decorative Arts
+44 20 7293 5486
henry.house@sothebys.com
Jeremy Smith
Director
Specialist
English & Continental Furniture
+44 20 7293 5072
jeremy.smith@sothebys.com
Stephanie Douglas
Director
Specialist
Tapestry, Rugs and Carpets
+44 20 7293 5469
stephanie.douglas@sothebys.com
Jonathan Hills
Director
Senior Specialist
Clocks and Barometers
+44 20 7293 5538
jonathan.hills@sothebys.com
Cynthia Harris
Director
Head of Department
Silver & Decorative Arts
+44 20 7293 5531
cynthia.harris@sothebys.com
Alice Bleuzen
Deputy Director
Specialist
Silver & Vertu
+44 20 7293 5350
alice.bleuzen@sothebys.com
João Magalhães
Deputy Director
Specialist
Continental Furniture
+44 20 7293 5089
joao.magalhaes@sothebys.com
Thomas Williams
Cataloguer
English Furniture
+44 20 7293 6211
thomas.williams@sothebys.com