Modern & Contemporary Day Auction

Modern & Contemporary Day Auction

Modern & Contemporary Day Auction

Modern & Contemporary Day Auction

Sotheby’s London is delighted to present its third iteration of the Modern & Contemporary Day Auction, taking place in March 2023, at our New Bond Street galleries. Bringing together over a century of paintings, drawings and sculpture, this auction will brilliantly showcase the multifaceted spirit of creativity from the late 19th century through to the present day. From the best of Impressionism and the revolutionary avant-garde movements of the early 20th century to the Abstract Expressionists and Contemporary artists working today, it encapsulates the innovative ways in which artists have dared to challenge established norms over the course of 150 years. Exceptional works from artists such as Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Pablo Picasso, René Magritte, Marc Chagall, Rashid Johnson and Salman Toor will be featured.


Illustrated above:

Rashid Johnson

Untitled Anxious Man, 2014


Calendar image:

Marc Chagall

Couple et coq, 1958


For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 207 293 5000 

enquiries@sothebys.com


For sale enquiries please contact:


Impressionist and Modern:


Holly Braine

Director, Head of Modern Day Auction

+44 20 7293 6119

Holly.Braine@sothebys.com


Julia Fischel

Deputy Director, Specialist

+44 20 7293 5051

Julia.Fischel@sothebys.com


Lara Pleydell-Bouverie

Cataloguer

+44 20 7293 6095

Lara.Pleydell-Bouverie@sothebys.com


Sabela Guy Delgado

Associate Cataloguer

+44 20 7293 6584

Sabela.GuyDelgado@sothebys.com


Julie Anna Smith

Pre-sales Coordinator

julieAnna.Smith@sothebys.com



Contemporary Art:


Antonia Gardner

Deputy Director

Head of Contemporary Day Auction

Antonia.Gardner@sothebys.com


Aleksandra Ziemiszewska

Associate Specialist

Aleksandra.Ziemiszewska@sothebys.com


Francesca Morpurgo

Associate Cataloguer

Francesca.Morpurgo@sothebys.com


Margaux Lefrere

Pre-sales Coordinator 

Margaux.lefrere@sothebys.com

Sale number

L23004

Session & Exhibit Information

Session times

Session 1

Thu, 02 Mar 23 • 12:00 PM GMT

Session 2

Thu, 02 Mar 23 • 2:00 PM GMT

Exhibitions

London

Wed, 22 Feb 23 • 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM GMT

Thu, 23 Feb 23 • 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM GMT

Fri, 24 Feb 23 • 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM GMT

Sat, 25 Feb 23 • 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM GMT

Sun, 26 Feb 23 • 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM GMT

Mon, 27 Feb 23 • 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM GMT

Tue, 28 Feb 23 • 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM GMT

Wed, 01 Mar 23 • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM GMT