From Japan with Love

Bidding Opens:

Bidding Opens:

Bidding Opens:

30 September 2021 • 10:00 BST • London

From Japan with Love

From Japan with Love

From Japan with Love

Bidding Opens:

Bidding Opens:

Bidding Opens:

30 September 2021 • 10:00 BST • London

This October, Sotheby’s London presents our second online sale dedicated to Contemporary prints, multiples, photographs and works on paper inspired by Contemporary Japanese culture.


Open for bidding from 30 September–6 October, this auction features works by Japan’s most internationally-acclaimed artists: Yoshitomo Nara, Takashi Murakami and Yayoi Kusama among other iconic creators who have each synthesised Japanese and Western popular culture with their own signature aesthetic.


In a striking contrast, the sale includes a curated selection of provocative, stark and visceral photographs from Japan’s most celebrated contemporary photographers: Nobuyoshi Araki, Rinko Kawauchi and Daido Moriyama.


Responding to the current appetite for these international artworld superstars, Sotheby’s is bringing the subcultures of otaku, anime, manga, kawaii and kinbaku to London, from Japan with love.


Consignments are still being accepted for this autumn auction; please contact the Prints Department for a complimentary valuation at no obligation.


Illustrated:

Takashi Murakami

Poporoke Forest

Sold for £5,292


Highlights Exhibition:

London, 1–6 October


For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 207 293 5000 

enquiries@sothebys.com


For sale enquiries please contact:


Yessica Marks

Director

Interim Head of Department

Prints

+44 20 7293 5212

YESSICA.MARKS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Charlotte North

Deputy Director

Interim Deputy Head of Department

Specialist

Prints

+44 20 7293 5768

CHARLOTTE.NORTH@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Jennifer Strotz

Associate Specialist

Prints

+ 44 207 293 6354

JENNIFER.STROTZ@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Julia Paeslack

Cataloguer

Prints

+44 20 7293 5668

Julia.Paeslack@sothebys.com


Brandei Estes

Director

Head of Department

Photographs

+44 207 293 5586

BRANDEI.ESTES@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Irene Gonzalez

Junior Cataloguer

Prints/Photographs

+44 20 7293 5541

IRENE.GONZALEZ@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Eleanor Cooke

Senior Administrator

Prints & Photographs

+44 20 7293 6570

ELEANOR.COOKE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Valeria Vallucci

Department Assistant

Administrator

Prints

+44 20 7293 5650

Valeria.Vallucci@sothebys.com

Sale number

L21168