Lot 194
  • 194

Strauss, Richard

10,000 - 15,000 GBP
bidding is closed


  • Strauss, Richard
  • Autograph manuscript of part of "Ariadne auf Naxos", signed and inscribed ("Najade, Dryade, Echo...Ariadne DRichard Strauss")
  • paper
the complete lullaby for the trio of Nymphs  ("Töne, töne, süße Stimme"), in Scene 3 of the opera, scored for three soprano voices (Najade, Dryade & Echo), in D-flat major, addressing Ariadne after the first appearance of Bacchus, notated in piano score in black ink, on four two-stave systems, comprising twenty-two bars in all, the text added by the composer above the music

1 page, oblong 8vo (c.14 x 23cm), 9 staves, cut from a larger sheet, no place or date

Catalogue Note

The lullaby for the three Nymphs appears in both the original Ariadne auf Naxos (1912) and the revised version of 1916 (at Figure 221-223 and again in B-flat major at Figure 229-231).  The melody, sung partly in unison and partly in close harmony, recalls the duet for Sophie and Octavian at the end of Der Rosenkavalier.