- Titanic Claret Jug
- dated 1912
- cut glass, electroplate
- height: 22cm., 8 5/8 in.
engraved RMS TITANIC with monogram / A LA CARTE RESTAURANT, the interior of lid further inscribed Presented to/the officers of the white star line/by Arthur Price/Aston Birmingham/for the sea trials/of RMS Titanic/1912 and numbered 5891
Presented to Pursuer Reginal Barker and his officers in commemoration of the sea trials between Belfast and Southampton from 2nd April - 4th April 1912;
taken off the RMS Titanic before she set sail from Southampton 10 April 1912;
the White Star Line office in Liverpool until it became Cunard in 1967;
sold to a Private Collector circa 1967;
until sold Sotheby's, Olympia, 16 December 2002, lot 194
, the British liner which collided with an iceberg and sank on 15 April 1912 during her maiden voyage from Southampton to New York City, was launched from Harland & Wolff’s shipyard, Belfast, on 31 May 1911. Following her completion, the vessel’s sea trials were carried out in early April 1912. According to contemporary reports, representatives of a number of companies which had been involved in the building and fitting out of the Titanic
were aboard, as well as a large compliment of crew and mechanics.
This claret jug was the gift of Arthur Price (1865-1936) of A. Price & Co, of Gem Street, Aston, Birmingham, the firm of manufacturing cutlers and silversmiths which he established in 1902. Price supplied the ‘Panel Reed’ spoons, forks and cutlery for the dining rooms of the Titanic, a pattern which the company reissued in 2012 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the vessel’s launch.