Sotheby's Designer Showhouse

| New York
Browse Works
Browse Works
Exhibition Number: N09111 Works : 0

Overview

We are delighted to present Sotheby’s inaugural designer showhouse, an innovative and exciting new approach to highlighting the treasure trove of fine art, furniture and decorative arts offered each season at Sotheby’s. We invited a select group of talented interior designers each of whom was given exclusive access to our inventory and courageously shopped our “stacks” to select a group of objects from which they devised six distinctive interior spaces.  These objects include paintings, sculpture, prints, furniture and decorative arts which range in date from the 1st century A.D. through the end of the 20th century and encompass a range of artistic and architectural styles from around the world.

These designers were given the freedom to create any type of space and impose any type of aesthetic that he or she desired.  We hope that these spaces will demonstrate how good pieces of fine and decorative art can transcend time and space and that the dialogue between these pieces within a contemporary context not only allows the viewer an opportunity to reflect upon the pieces’ historical and art historical importance, but also gives these pieces new meaning and significance in the world of today. 

Whether you are a long-time collector or if this is your first time to Sotheby’s we are proud to share with you the result of this collaborative effort.

We hope that you will enjoy this exhibition and welcome to Sotheby’s.


The 1744 Young Collectors Club

Sotheby's 1744 Young Collectors Club is tailored to individuals who are in the early stages of building their art collections and interested in learning more about the art market.

 

Graciously supported by:



 

Contact Information

Xavier Jover
Vice President
Head of Department
19th Century Furniture, Sculpture & Decorative Works of Art
+1 212 894 1434
xavier.jover@sothebys.com
John Ward
Senior Vice President
Head of Department
Silver
+1 212 606 7160
john.ward@sothebys.com
David Pollack
Assistant Vice President
Specialist
Old Master Paintings
+1 212 606 7230
david.pollack@sothebys.com
Alexandra Allen
Specialist
Fine Arts
+1 212 606 7916
alexandra.allen@sothebys.com
Alexander Grogan
Assistant Vice President
Sales Director
African and Oceanic Art
+1 212 894 1312
alexander.grogan@sothebys.com
Csongor Kis
Assistant Vice President
Specialist
French & Continental Furniture
Rugs & Carpets
+1 212 606 7213
csongor.kis@sothebys.com
Mark Best
Associate Specialist
Prints
+1 212 606 7353
Mark.Best@sothebys.com