Auction Results

Impressionist & Modern Art Evening Sale

| | New York

SALE TOTAL

290,244,000 USD
Browse Lots
Browse Lots
Sale Number: N09035 Lots : 64

Overview

Sotheby’s Impressionist & Modern Art Evening Sale in New York on 6 November 2013 will open with a private collection of seminal works created between 1910 and 1930. Futur! Masterworks of the Avant-Garde features museum-quality examples by artists including Giacomo Balla, Joan Miró, Francis Picabia, Pablo Picasso and Juan Gris. Together, these works tell a compelling story of the European avant-garde, from Cubism and Futurism, through Dada, Surrealism and Abstraction. The fourteen pictures represent perhaps the finest group of Modernist masterpieces to appear at auction since Sotheby’s landmark sale of the Malbin Collection in 1990. Sotheby’s will debut the collection in its London galleries from October 12 – 17, before returning to New York for exhibition in its York Avenue galleries beginning 1 November.

Simon Shaw, Head of Sotheby’s Impressionist & Modern Art department in New York, said: “This is a treasure-trove of Modernism. Collections rarely explore a theme with such power and unity. Each work adds a distinct chapter, showing artists’ engagement with a radically transforming universe – mass communication, the automobile and airplane, technology, photography and cinema. Just as today’s world was born in those years, many more recent movements such as Pop Art, Minimalism, Conceptual Art and Abstraction also have their roots in the artists represented here.”

Other highlights from the upcoming sale include classic Impressionist and post-Impressionist paintings, including Paul Gauguin's Petit Breton à l'oie from 1889.  

RESULTS

The Impressionist & Modern Art Evening Sale totaled $290,244,000 and was 81.2% sold-by-lot. The top lot of the sale was Alberto Giacometti’s Grande Tête Mince (Grande tête de Diego), which had remained in the same private collection since 1980 and achieved $50,005,000, meeting its high estimate. Works by Pablo Picasso brought exceptional prices throughout the night, led by Tête de Femme, his 1935 portrait of Marie-Thérèse Walter that reached $39,925,000 – well in excess of its $30 million high estimate. Picasso’s Mousquetaire à la pipe set a new auction record for a late work by the artist at $30,965,000, soaring above its $18 million high estimate. Futur! Masterworks of the Avant-Garde collection totaled $64.3 million, highlighted by Italian Futurist Giacomo Balla’s Automobile in Corsa that sold for $11,477,000 – a new auction record for the artist. Strong prices for Impressionist works included Claude Monet’s Glaçons, Effet Blanc that brought $16,125,000 and a new auction record for Gustave Courbet with his Étretat: Les Falaises realizing $3,749,000.

View Press Release

Contact Information

Melanie Clore
Chairman, Sotheby's Europe
Co-Chairman, Worldwide Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 5393
melanie.clore@sothebys.com
David Norman
Vice Chairman, Sotheby’s Americas
Co-Chairman, Worldwide Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 606 7154
david.norman@sothebys.com
Helena Newman
Chairman, Impressionist & Modern Art, Europe
Co-Head, Worldwide Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 5397
helena.newman@sothebys.com
Simon Shaw
Co-Head, Worldwide Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 894 1485
simon.shaw@sothebys.com
Philip Hook
Board Member
Senior International Specialist
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 5223
philip.hook@sothebys.com
Clarissa Post
Senior Vice President
Senior Specialist
+1 212 606 7546
clarissa.post@sothebys.com
Samuel Valette
Senior Director, Vice Chairman, Private Sales Worldwide
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 5733
samuel.valette@sothebys.com
Elizabeth Gorayeb
Senior Vice President
Director of Research
Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 894 1575
elizabeth.gorayeb@sothebys.com
Simon Stock
Senior Director
Senior International Specialist
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 5716
simon.stock@sothebys.com
Benjamin Doller
Vice Chairman, Americas
Executive Vice President
19th Century European
British Paintings
Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 606 7141
benjamin.doller@sothebys.com
Takako Nagasawa
Head of Private Sales, North America
Specialist & Vice President
Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 894 1810
Takako.Nagasawa@sothebys.com
Jeremiah Evarts, Jr.
Senior Vice President
Head of Evening Sales
Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 606 7360
jeremiah.evarts@sothebys.com
Nisha Amin
Senior Director, Senior Business Director
Impressionist & Modern Art
nisha.amin@sothebys.com
James Mackie
Senior Director, Deputy Head of Department
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 6226
james.mackie@sothebys.com
Molly Ott Ambler
Senior Vice President
Head of Day Sales
Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 606 7360
molly.ott@sothebys.com
Aleksandra Todorovic
Director
Specialist, Head of Research
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 5040
aleksandra.todorovic@sothebys.com
Alexandra Schiffer
Director
Specialist
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 6217
alexandra.schiffer@sothebys.com
Georgina Gold
Director, Specialist
Co-Head of Day Sale
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 5534
georgina.gold@sothebys.com
Marie-Edmée de Malherbe
Director, Specialist
Co-Head of Day Sale
Impressionist & Modern Art
+44 20 7293 6051
marie.demalherbe@sothebys.com
Julian Dawes
Vice President
Specialist
Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 606 7360
julian.dawes@sothebys.com
Scott Niichel
Vice President
Specialist
Impressionist & Modern Art
+1 212 606 7360
scott.niichel@sothebys.com
Blake Koh
Senior Vice President
Senior Specialist
Fine Art
+1 310 274 0340
blake.koh@sothebys.com